Drinking and driving can change your life. Not only do you risk arrest and a criminal conviction, but you also risk being involved in a crash and causing property damage or bodily injury to yourself or another person. While the consequences of drinking and driving may be numerous, including psychological impacts, the four primary consequences of being arrested for and convicted of a DUI/OUI offense in Massachusetts are the following —
Criminal Conviction and Mark on Your Permanent Record
Even if you are not convicted of the DUI/OUI offense, the arrest will show up on your criminal record, and will stay on your record unless you have the record sealed. Even if you have your record sealed, it will still be accessible to government agencies and law enforcement in the future.
Of course, if you are convicted of the DUI/OUI offense, this may have an even bigger impact. Being convicted of drunk driving in Boston can make it difficult to get or retain a job, secure housing, volunteer, get into college, and more.
Depending on the details of your crime, you may face time in jail or prison. If you are involved in a fatal DUI case, the prosecution could charge you with a felony. Felony manslaughter while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of an intoxicating substance is treated very seriously in Massachusetts; if you are convicted, the mandatory minimum sentence for this charge is five years in the state prison, and up to 20 years.
Large Fines and Fees
If you are arrested for a DUI/OUI, you can guarantee that you will incur fees, even if you are not convicted. The primary types of fees you will incur based on the arrest alone are court fees and attorneys’ fees; if you are convicted, you will also have to pay a fine based on the conviction, and you may also need to pay fees for license reinstatement, too. Getting a DUI is a very costly process.
Revocation of Your Driver’s License
If you are convicted of a DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least one year for a first offense. For a second offense, the suspension period is two years. And there are even some cases where your driver’s license can be suspended even if you’re not convicted. For example, if you refuse to submit to a blood or breath alcohol test when requested by law enforcement to do so, your license can be suspended for 180 days (for a first offense).
Get Help from a Boston DUI Attorney Today
Drinking and driving is never a good idea. If you do drink and drive and are arrested and charged with an OUI/DUI, you’ll need a Boston DUI attorney on your side who can build your case and protect your best interests. At The Law Office of Paul R. Moraski, our attorney can start working for you today. Call Attorney Paul Moraski directly today at (978) 397-0011 or send our law firm a message online at your convenience.