Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence (OUI) of alcohol or drugs in Massachusetts is a big deal. Indeed, even a first-time offense can result in jail time, a large fine, and a license suspension. If a person faces a secondary or subsequent conviction, though, the penalties become even more severe. At The Law Office of Paul R. Moraski, we urge you to seek legal counsel if you are facing an OUI charge. If you have been charged with an OUI following three previous OUI convictions, here’s what you should know about the range of penalties you face–
Penalties for a Fourth-Offense OUI in Massachusetts
If you have been charged with your fourth OUI in Massachusetts–which means that you have three prior OUI convictions–you need to hire an attorney immediately as the range of consequences you face is severe. Potential consequences if you are convicted of an OUI for the fourth time include:
- Jail. While being convicted of even a first OUI offense in Massachusetts presents the possibility of jail time, for a fourth offense, there is a one-year mandatory minimum sentence requirement, with the potential of incarceration for up to five years.
- Fines. In addition to jail time, you could face a fine of up to $25,000. The minimum fine is $1,500.
- License suspension. If you are convicted for a fourth OUI, you can say goodbye to your license. While the revocation won’t be permanent, there is a 10-year license suspension penalty. Getting a hardship license isn’t possible until at least five years have passed.
- Impact on future opportunities. Finally, you can be sure that any future opportunities that you have will be impacted. A fourth-offense OUI on your record can result in challenges securing housing, employment, custody of your children, and more.
Defenses to a DUI Charge
When you hire The Law Office of Paul R. Moraski to represent you in your OUI case, you can count on an experienced lawyer who will aggressively advocate for you regardless of your criminal history. Our lawyer believes that all are innocent until proven guilty. Our lawyer will work hard to review your case and explore any potential defenses, such as illegal stop, improper/defective breathalyzer, etc. If a defense isn’t feasible, our attorney can work with the prosecution to negotiate a plea deal that is fair and just.
Call Attorney Paul R. Moraski Today
At The Law Office of Paul R. Moraski, our Massachusetts OUi lawyer understands how much is on the line when you are facing an OUI charge, especially a second, third, or fourth OUI charge. Don’t make the mistake of attempting to defend yourself–hiring a lawyer is one of the smartest things you can do.
To learn more about what happens if you are facing a fourth-offense OUI charge in our state, the range of penalties you may be up against, and how to start building your case and protecting your rights, please call our lawyer directly at (978) 397-0011 or send us a message at your convenience using the intake form on our website. We are here to advocate for you.