Being charged with a crime as a juvenile can have a lasting impact on your future and your opportunities. If you are facing juvenile gun crime charges in Massachusetts, consult with our experienced criminal lawyer.
Buying, possessing, and transporting firearms is not a right that is afforded to all persons in the state of Massachusetts. In fact, juveniles (those who are under the age of 18) are not permitted to purchase a firearm, and most juveniles are prohibited from possessing, carrying, and transporting firearms and ammunition.
Being convicted of a gun crime is a very serious offense. If you are facing juvenile gun crime charges in our state, our lawyer wants to help. Here’s what you need to know as a parent of a juvenile, or as a juvenile yourself, who is facing gun crime charges–
Juvenile Gun Crimes in Massachusetts
In Massachusetts, a person must have a Firearm Identification Card (FID) in order to possess a firearm. Those who are under 15 years of age are barred from receiving an FID, and those who are between 15 and 17 years of age can only receive an FID if they have the permission of their parent/guardian and they are not prohibited for other reasons (i.e. the individual has been committed to a hospital for mental illness).
Juveniles, even those who are ages 15-17 and have an FID, are also prohibited from purchasing firearms. In order to purchase a handgun, a person must be 21 years of age in our state; to purchase a long gun, a person must be 18 years of age. (Note that a person under 21 years of age is also not permitted to possess a handgun, regardless of parental consent.) A license-to-carry (LTC) permit, which permits the transportation, possession, purchase, and carrying of all large- and non-large-capacity rifles, handguns, shotguns, ammunition, and feeding devices can only be issued to those who are age 21 and older.
Penalties for Juvenile Gun Crimes in Massachusetts
When teens are caught with guns, they will likely be arrested, and the guns will be confiscated, as was the case in three arrests of armed teens in Boston in 2018. But what are the penalties for the illegal possession of a firearm? As found in Massachusetts General Laws, the possession of a firearm without a license can result in imprisonment, a fine, or both. The specific penalties that a juvenile will face depends on how the juvenile is being tried and the details of the crime. In all cases, it is strongly advised to consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can build your case, advise you of your options, represent you in court, negotiate with the prosecution if appropriate, and help you to obtain the best case outcome possible.
Call Our Criminal Lawyer Today
If you are a teen who has been charged with a gun crime, or a parent of a person who is facing a juvenile gun crime charge, we urge you to call our criminal lawyer in Massachusetts for the legal counsel and support you need. Reach out to The Law Office of Paul R. Moraski directly today to request a consultation and get the help you need. You can reach Attorney Moraski at (978) 397-0011.