If you’re facing DUI charges, you’re probably more than a little scared. You also have numerous questions about these charges and what impact a conviction will have on your future.
At the law of offices of Paul R. Moraski, we answer your most common questions on DUI-related penalties. If you’ve been arrested for driving while drunk in Massachusetts, give Paul R. Moraski a call at (978) 397-0011 for expert legal representation backed by several years of experience. And for more DUI information, take a tour of our DUI/OUI page!
Frequently Asked Questions
Must I Go to Court?
DUI cases can be lengthy and complex, and you’ll probably need to attend court at least once to be arraigned. Being represented by a DUI lawyer can ease the burden and stress of turning up in court.
Will My Driver’s License Be Taken Away?
When you’re arrested for drunk driving, law enforcement automatically confiscates your license, and if you don’t act fast, you may lose it for a long period of time. One of our experienced DUI lawyers can help you set up a DMV hearing as well as fight to keep your driving privileges.
What Sort of Punishment Will I Face on a DUI Charge?
A DUI charge carries severe penalties. While the court may not come down heavily on first-time offenders, possible sentences in first-offence cases include imprisonment and stiff fines. But if the circumstances call for it, the court can choose less severe sanctions, including community service, abuse counseling, alcohol awareness, or probation. For subsequent offenses, there’s a greater likelihood of jail time and, in all cases, the possibility of loss of driving privileges is almost certain, at least temporarily.
What Will Happen If I Refuse to Take the Breath Test?
Massachusetts DUI laws require you to take the breatt test, failure to which your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 180 days if you’re a first-time offender. If you don’t pass the breath test, the state will suspend your license for 30 days. In most cases, you can secure a hardship license if you decide to appeal to shorten the time which you can’t drive.
If I Simply Plead Guilty, why is It Important to Have an Attorney?
Even if you’re guilty of driving while intoxicated, it’s crucial to seek the counsel of an experienced lawyer so you can get a much lighter sentence and increase your chances of moving on to a brighter future. You need a Massachusetts DUI lawyer to neutralize the prosecution and ensure that the constitutional rights guaranteed to you are not violated.
Will a DUI Charge Stay on My Record Permanently?
If you’re convicted of DUI, you can submit a petition to expunge DUI from your record. Being convicted of DUI can negatively impact your life, and deny you college admission or a good job. Having your DUI expunged can help you get over the stigma associated with it by getting it off your record.
We’ve Got More Answers!
DUI is no doubt a complicated law area, and for this reason, you need a Massachusetts DUI lawyer that’s committed to defending your rights. At the Paul R. Moraski law office, we know what you and your loved ones are going through at this difficult, trying time and we’ll do all we can to get you through it. Call us at (978) 397-0011 to set up your free consultation.